How to Unmerge the User folder in Windows 10

How to Unmerge the User folder in Windows 10

ATTENTION, PLEASE!

Malware may install itself multiple times if you don't delete its core files. This may require tracking down dozend of files in different locations.

We recommend downloading Restoro to eradicate Malware for you (The entire process takes about 15 minutes)

How to Unmerge the User folder in Windows 10

The Windows 10 system allows users to change the default location of the User folders to another drive. This is probably to make sure that the files stay sage in case the system suddenly crashes. However, in some cases, while changing the path to another drive, for instance the D drive or any folder, the Windows system recognized it as a hard drive as well so even though the files will be saved on that folder, it will appear as a hard drive in the Windows Explorer or look merged with another folder. It could also be that you had dragged and dropped a user folder to another user folder by accident. So if you’re wondering how you can unmerge the User folders, read on as this post will guide you how exactly you can do that.

Take note that even if you try to use the File History to restore the User folders, it still won’t work and you won’t be able to move them back to their previous locations nor restore the folders back to their previous versions and it would only state that they are not available. In the instructions given below, we are using the Downloads folder as the example.

Step 1: Tap the Win + R keys to open the Run dialog box.

Step 2: Next, type “regedit” in the field and hit Enter to open the Registry Editor.

Step 3: After opening the Registry Editor, navigate to the following registry key:

ComputerHKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVersionExplorerUser Shell Folders

Step 4: Then double-click on the multi-string value {374DE290-123F-4565-9164-39C4925E467B} located in the right hand pane. And in the Value Data, copy and paste the following value:

%USERPROFILE%Downloads

Step 5: Now click OK and close the Registry Editor.

Note: Look close enough and you’ll see that the multi-string values belong to each one of the folders. From there, you have Desktop, Favorites, Skydrive, Music, Pictures and many more.

Step 6: Restart your computer. After that, the operating system will pick up the new folder location during the startup. Here are the values for the other folders:

Music – {1CF1260C-4DD0-4ebb-811F-33C572699FDE}

Pictures – {3ADD1653-EB32-4cb0-BBD7-DFA0ABB5ACCA}

Videos – {A0953C92-50DC-43bf-BE83-3742FED03C9C}

Documents – {A8CDFF1C-4878-43be-B5FD-F8091C1C60D0}

Desktop – {B4BFCC3A-DB2C-424C-B029-7FE99A87C641}

Step 7: Now all you have to do is to change the location correctly. Start by tapping the Win + E keys to open the Windows File Explorer.

Step 8: After that, right click on the Downloads folder located in the right-hand pane.

Step 9: Then click on Properties and go to the Location tab then type “D:Downloads” in the location box.

Step 10: Click the Apply button and then the OK button to save the changes made. Doing so would ensure that not only the Downloads folder is restored but also that it does not stay merged to another folder or appear as a drive.

Aside from the minimal merging of User folders issue, if you are currently experiencing other issues – from minimal ones to extreme ones – there is a one-click solution known as Restoro you can use. This program is a useful tool that could repair corrupted registries and optimize your PC’s overall performance. Aside from that, it also cleans out your computer for any junk or corrupted files that help you eliminate any unwanted files from your system. This is basically a solution that’s within your grasp with just a click. It’s easy to use as it is user-friendly. For a complete set of instructions for downloading and using it, refer to the steps below.

Perform a full system scan using Restoro. To do so, follow these steps:

  1. Turn on your computer. If it’s already on, you have to reboot it.
  2. After that, the BIOS screen will be displayed, but if Windows pops up instead, reboot your computer and try again. Once you’re on the BIOS screen, repeat pressing F8, by doing so the Advanced Option shows up.

  1. To navigate the Advanced Option use the arrow keys and select Safe Mode with Networking then hit Enter.
  2. Windows will now load the Safe Mode with Networking.
  3. Press and hold both R key and Windows key.

  1. If done correctly, the Windows Run Box will show up.
  2. Type in the URL address, https://errortools.com/download/restoro in the Run dialog box and then tap Enter or click OK.
  3. After that, it will download the program. Wait for the download to finish and then open the launcher to install the program.
  4. Once the installation process is completed, run Restoro to perform a full system scan.

  1. After the scan is completed click the “Fix, Clean & Optimize Now” button.